{treat yo’ self}

Standard

In case you don’t understand my title reference,
please take the time to review this clip of my favorite television program:
{Parks and Recreation – Treat Yo’ Self}

Get it?
I’m taking a more literal sense of the term treat,
since I’m a huge foodie and have been mildly obsessed
with peppermint goods for the last month.

For those of you who are looking for a terrifically indulgent peppermint beverage, I give you:

White Chocolate Peppermint Hot Cocoa

white chocolate peppermint cocoa, holiday treats, holiday beverages, peppermint drinks

{Courtesy of Recipegirl.com}

Ingredients:

2/3 cup chilled whipping cream
8 hard red-and-white-striped peppermint candies, coarsely crushed (or candy canes)
3 1/2 cups milk (low fat is fine)
8 ounces good-quality white chocolate (such as Lindt or Baker’s), chopped
1/2 teaspoon peppermint extract
Additional coarsely crushed peppermint candies

Directions:

1. Beat cream and 8 crushed candies in medium bowl until stiff peaks form. Cover and refrigerate whipped cream.

2. Bring milk to simmer in heavy large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add white chocolate; whisk until melted and smooth. Bring to simmer, whisking constantly. Mix in peppermint extract. Ladle into 4 mugs. Top with a layer of whipped cream. Sprinkle with additional crushed candies and serve.

_______________________________________________

Unfortunately, every time I head to my dear home,
I ultimately reach the refrigerator.
Where I spend much time staring, under a magnet guarding the door,
at a vintage portrait of a hog, boasting the tag line:

“those who indulge, bulge.”

So, in searching for a lower-calorie way to feel jolly,
I’ve incorporated these two ingredients into my holiday-themed morning routine…

Peppermint Chocolate Coffee

chocolate peppermint coffee, seasonal coffee, holiday drinks, low calorie holiday drinks

+

torani peppermint syrup, peppermint drinks, holiday drinks

=

happy coffee drinker, holiday drinks, morning excitement

I’m not sure you can tell from my facial expression, but it’s a definitely a winning combination.
And fat free?
Now that’s something to ho-ho-ho about.

 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Get your merriment on this season, in whatever wonderful way you choose, xox.

2 responses »

  1. Love it!!!! You crack me up! I have such a hard time sticking with keeping up with blogs (including writing my own lol) but yours is amazing and I never miss a posting! Merry Christmas to you my friend!

Leave a Reply

